Trust Yourself

Today is me and my husband’s 6 year wedding anniversary. I’ve been given the gift of time (yay!) to work on a fun project today.

THE STORY BEHIND THE PAGE

My husband and I were at dinner last night, and had some really good conversation. We were talking about our futures (something we do A LOT). He’s got lots of big ideas and plans and after we talked about that, we talked about some of my goals and ideas. I’ve been really into my art lately and I have to tell you…it just feeds my soul!! Nothing would make me happier than to be able to do this full time. As we were discussing that, I was telling him my thoughts and the process I’ve been going through on trying to find my own authentic style of art. I take a lot of classes, read a lot, and study other artist work that I admire. I want to be able to take all of that knowledge and incorporate that into my own style, a much harder thing than I had imagined. I’ve been thinking about that conversation today and when I finished this page, I added a few words as a personal reminder to trust myself. Trust my ability to push through and make my dreams come to pass. Trust myself that I will find my true self through my art and be able recognize it as my own personal expression of who I am. I think all of us, no matter how young or old we are, are always working on defining ourselves. To use art to do this makes me happier than I ever thought! πŸ™‚



WHAT MAKES THIS PAGE SPECIAL

I actually created a stamp myself today. I was inspired by my daughter, Macie, who came home from school last year talking about the stamp she carved in art class. It sounded like so much fun. We bought all of the supplies to do it at home, and they’ve been sitting in a bag all summer. Today was a beautiful day outside, so we took our supplies and some blankets out there, spread everything out and went to work. I created a Snapguide as I went along to describe exactly how this was done. You can view my Snapguide here. I used my stamp over and over with different inks and paints to create the background of this page in my art journal. The only other thing I used was some Dylusions mist, Ranger alcohol ink, and a script roller stamp. I used a little Pan Pastel around the edges for some depth.

I hope everyone has enjoyed their weekend! Thanks for stopping by. If you like this post, please feel free to subscribe on the right sidebar to get the latest posts in your Inbox or Reader. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Trust Yourself

  1. This is beautiful, Melissa- and I loved reading the story behind it. First of all, congrats on your anniversary! Love that you and your husband discuss plans and goals for the future- what a healthy, positive thing to have in a relationship :). I think that whatever you set your mind to artistically, you can do- you most certainly have the talent! Keep it up, my friend :)~

    xErin

    Like

  2. He Melissa, I hopped on over to your blog from the Frosted Designs Design team spotlight. As soon as I saw this blog, I felt immediately connected to your work. First of all, it is BEAUTIFUL…ALL of it! I will definitely be visiting your blog often for inspiration. I love the story on this post as it is very SIMILAR to mine. At this point, I’m trying to get out of the “fast lane” (as Melody Ross calls it) and do what feeds my soul most…ART.

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

    • I’m so glad you came by my blog and for leaving such kind compliments!! Discovering art journaling and mixed media has really helped me to open up artistically. It’s good to hear about other women who have been inspired as well. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

