Off and Running!

With Lifebook 2013 off to a great start, I am feeling excited again about creating. Stress is not very conducive to being creative and there has been plenty of that in the last few months. Not bad stress necessarily, just the stress of everyday life in a busy household of 6 (7 when Ashley is home from college 🙂 ) Over the past week I have been plugging away bit by bit on our second assignment. It was a really fun little page, just documenting what we are grateful for now, and a few goals for the future. I’m really big on setting goals, so this was a fun way to interpret that rather than my boring notebook paper list that I usually do.

On this page I am still working with the Neocolor watercolor crayons, which I am learning how to work with better now. I find that I really enjoy blending these using my fingers. Maybe it’s just because I like getting my hands dirty when being creative? Anyway, after creating the background entirely with watercolor, I went to my one of my favorite background creators: the spray ink and stencils. I went easy with it, and was pleased at how it blended in with the watercolors. It added that boldness of color that I was looking for from the first assignment. I’m really trying to think about what I like and incorporate that into the lessons to try and make each piece my own. I feel like I’m getting there and it makes me happy 🙂 This piece is little bit cartoonish I think, and not my most favorite but I’m ok with that. I think it’s the whole “drawing” thing that’s throwing me for a loop.

Anyway, here is my second piece:

2013 Here I Come

Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Off and Running!

Leave a Reply

