LifeBook Week 2 and 3

Hi everyone! Continuing on my LifeBook 2013 journey with a post this week on my projects from Week 2 and Week 3. Week 2 we had a bonus assignment from Monica Zuniga in which she is encouraging us to ‘set our True Intentions’ for the year. I’ve created a mixed media girl out of stamps that I had in my stash and a copyright free image I found (the face) online. These are words that I hope to remain mindful of throughout this year.
My True Intentions
Week 3’s lesson is from Christy Tomlinson, who is one of my most favorite artists. I was having a discussion with one of the ladies on LifeBook earlier today and she was talking about sell out artists and remaining true to yourself. I think that Christy is definitely someone who remains true to her style and I appreciate that about her. I also realized that I need to stay true to myself and my style as well. For a while I had it in my head that I when I’m taking these classes my stuff needs to be in the same style as the teacher. While I’ve enjoyed dabbling in watercolors and sketching, I truly know now that my real style is bold and bright and colorful. And that I can translate that style into the assignments and lessons. I’m not trying to make pretty, perfectly drawn pastel colored art. It’s just not who I am. It feels good to finally understand that and embrace it! So with that in mind, we learned a really cool foil and coffee filter technique to make a bloom. Here is what I did with that:
In Bloom.
Well, off to feed the kids some lunch. Hope you all have a wonderful day! 🙂

One thought on “LifeBook Week 2 and 3

Leave a Reply

