Some Facecinating girls and LifeBook catch up time!

Hi everyone, I hope you all enjoyed the long weekend–I know I sure did. We spent all day Saturday and Sunday at my daughter’s basketball tournament, so Monday was a welcome break πŸ™‚ Although we did end up spending most of it out car shopping… my vehicle is getting up there in miles and it’s time to replace it.

Anyhoo….I’ve been a bit sidetracked from my LifeBook class over the last 2 months. I’ve really been wanting to master doing faces and when I saw the Facecinating Girls 3 week online course from Andrea Gomoll, I decided to jump in. What I love about this class (other than sweet Andrea) is that it comes with a clear stamp set that really helps take the pressure off as far as trying to draw a perfect face. I’ve learned a lot about shading, which is really something I needed. The class really is a great value and I highly recommend it if you are looking for an easy breakdown on face painting.

Also, for my birthday I received Mixed Media Girls by Suzi Blu. I’m just going to say that I think she is AWESOME and leave it at that. I can’t wait to sign up for some of her classes, but I think I need to get through LifeBook first. Between that and the new Frog Dog design team there isn’t room for much else, and I am ok with that. So here we are. I just wanted to share with you a few things that I’ve been working on in my art journals as a result of these classes and such.
This first sketch is done with just some basic shading with a Faber Castell Gelato:
DSC_0715
This one was done with PrismaColor pencils:
DSC_0714
This one was done with the PrismaColor pencils and Inktense blocks:
DSC_0711
The next two are fully completed using acrylic paints, the PrismaColor pencils again, and the Inktense blocks, and Gelatos:
DSC_0717
DSC_0716
And a few sketches based on Suzi Blu’s book. I know these need quite a bit more work. Practice, practice!!! πŸ™‚
DSC_0713
DSC_0712
And finally my project for Life Book 2013 – Week 16 – Bottoms Up with Aimee Meyers Dolich:
Bottoms UP
And that’s it for the day! Hope I didn’t overload you too much πŸ™‚ Stay tuned for the reveals at Frog Dog Studios this weekend–so exciting!

4 thoughts on “Some Facecinating girls and LifeBook catch up time!

  1. Oh yeah, I stumbled upon Suzi Blue on YouTube. Probably among my early days of art journaling. And good thing your practicing with faces; kinda reminds me that I’m getting rusty. lol.

    Love the way your pages came out though.They’re so colorful, and you certainly didn’t hesitate to use a good combination of supplies.

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed your post and seeing all of your work. I am thinking about taking the Life Book 2013 myself, but not sure seeing as how I have not made the first journal page yet. I look forward to seeing what you do next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

