Art Journal and Mini Canvas tutorial + A Special Mixed Media Project

Hi everyone! I hope you are all enjoying your weekend. I’m taking a quick moment to catch up on my blogging. Between today’s basketball tournament for one daughter and the other’s dance recital–it’s going to be a busy day!

I wanted to let you know that I have my How to Create a Mini Mixed Media Canvas tutorial posted up on the Frog Dog Studio Blog, as well as the tutorial on How to Create a Textured Art Journal Page. I hope you will stop by and take a look.

Don’t forget to sign up for the monthly mixed media kits offered by Frog Dog Studio. They have all kinds of great supplies and I can assure you there are some real goodies coming up for July šŸ™‚

In other news, I was asked by my sister-in-law to create a fun and funky mixed media piece for their new home in Austin. Of course I was happy to do so šŸ™‚ I bought a plain 16 x 20 art board and went to work. She liked the idea of a skyline, so I searched Google images and found a basic shaped skyline. From that I gathered assorted papers (scrapbook papers, book pages, and old sticker sheet of my daughter’s, etc.) and began cutting them into the general shapes of the buildings. I laid them down on the board to make sure everything would fit properly. Then I started on the background. The board was already gessoed, so I was able to get right to work. I mixed several different paints, stencils, spray inks, and modeling paste to create a background with lots of texture and color.

The next step was to use the Claudine Helmuth matte medium to glue down the buildings. Then I tore up bits of paper and washi tape to create the details. I outlined everything with a pen, then I went back to the background. Using heavy gel medium, I attached lots of different beads and sequins to really add some dimension to the piece. I also added some rubons and used a roller stamp randomly. Once everything was dry, I sprayed the entire thing with a fixative. I didn’t want everything all running together. After the fixative dried, I put a coat of Golden clear self leveling gel to finish it off. It adds a heavy gloss and seals and protects the entire piece. I am really happy with the end result, I hope that she likes it!

DSC_0765

DSC_0766

DSC_0767

DSC_0768

Thanks for stopping by, I will be back in a few days with another fun project I plan to start this weekend for my daughter’s room…stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “Art Journal and Mini Canvas tutorial + A Special Mixed Media Project

  1. Good job, high five! I have a good stash of beads and sequins, but haven’t considered gluing them on canvas. Seems like something worth trying. And I had to take a closer look at the detail on the buildings, which is cool. I especially like to text on the left that says “The time is now / follow your dreams.”

    Looking forward to seeing your next project!

    Like

Leave a Reply

