How to Create an Art Journal Page with an Image Transfer-Using Frog Dog Studio’s July Mixed Media Kit

Good morning, I wanted to share a tutorial on how I created a page in my art journal using our Frog Dog Studio’s July mixed media kit supplies. You can also find this tutorial on the Frog Dog Studio Blog.

For my journal page this month I wanted to try and conquer my nemesis…the image transfer! I have books on techniques, have watched tutorials, and even had a lesson on this from the very talented Donna Downey and I still can’t seem to get this nailed! Practice makes perfect, right? So I decided to give it another go using the clip art and matte medium from this month’s kit. I started out by choosing an image from the sheet, cutting it out, covering it with the matte medium, and laying it face down on the page. I then burnished it using my brayer.

I misted the image with water, adding more as needed, and gently began rubbing off the back side of the image. The paper was really wet and crumbly, but I could see the image coming through pretty good.

Next I added some strips of washi tape around the image transfer. I also used the paint dabbers from the kit to add some color.

I wanted to add a punch of color, so I got out my Pan Pastels and used a foam sponge to work the yellow colors into the entire background. I used another Pan Pastel in red to blend in the edges and add some pop. Then, I used a circle stamp from Claudine Hellmuth and Ranger Archival ink to add some contrast.

Music often inspires me, and while I was working on this page the song “Dream” by Priscilla Ahn came on my mix. How perfect to go with my bird themed page! I cut out another bird and the letters for FLY and SWING from the clip art sheet, then got out my trusty cheap-o letter stamps to create the journaling on my page.

Well my image transfer still wasn’t 100%, but that’s the thing about art journaling–it’s a great place to practice, make mistakes, and experiment. Don’t be afraid to try something new today!

2 thoughts on “How to Create an Art Journal Page with an Image Transfer-Using Frog Dog Studio’s July Mixed Media Kit

  1. Great page. When it comes to transfering, I find it works best when I put the matte medium on my page and not on the image I want to transfer. Maybe this works for you as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

