Art Journaling on my Gelli Prints

Good morning! I have managed to amass quite a collection of Gelli prints at this point and decided to start using some of them. The obvious place for me to start is in my art journal. I bought a Strathmore Mixed Media journal specifically for Gelli printing. This way I have a whole book of backgrounds ready to go whenever I am!

The first journal page is using a Gelli print background, to which I added a sketched face. Yes, I am still working on drawing faces. I think they are finally showing some improvement. I did this one fast and loose, just working loosely with a graphite pencil and a couple of Prismacolor pencils. I added some Tim Holtz Tissue Tape around the edges, just because there was a lot of white space that didn’t get printed on and I wanted this page full of color.

DSC_0907

DSC_0908

On the next page, I drew this cute owl-inspired by a new book I just bought: Craft A Doodle by Jenny Doh. I colored him in using my Letraset Aqua Markers and a Sakura Gelly Roll pen in white. I also added a few rub ons and this cute new stamped sentiment that I picked up at Stamp Antonio Arts.

DSC_0909

DSC_0910

DSC_0911

DSC_0912

The next page I actually worked on with my five year old daughter, Sophie. I started with the Gelli print, and looked for any shapes or patterns that stood out to me. I saw the body of a bird, so I started creating one out of the yellow spot. Sophie suggested that I create a little bird next to the big one, to represent her. So I did πŸ™‚ I used the Aqua markers again for some extra color and shading, as well as a small Pitt pen.

DSC_0913

DSC_0914

DSC_0915

Thanks for stopping by, I will be back later this week with my second Frog Dog Studio project for August!

8 thoughts on “Art Journaling on my Gelli Prints

  1. Love the pages Melissa! Are you printing directly from your plate to the pages of the journal while they are still in the wire binding? Or do you remove them and then put them back in? Or are you using separate pages you’ve glued into the journal?

    Like

    • Thanks! I’ve done both. When I first started printing I was using sheets of strathmore mixed media paper. Then I decided I wanted to have a journal with backgrounds already done so I started printing directly into a wire bound journal. I bought a Strathmore mixed media journal 9 x 12 and have had lots of luck with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

