Making Time for Art Journal Play and Exciting News!!

Good morning everyone! Today I would like to share a few art journal pages that I’ve done recently. I’ve been part of an art journal swap hosted by Frog Dog Studio and let me tell you there are some seriously creative gals in this swap!! We all chose our OLW (One Little Word) as the theme for our individual journals then had fun swapping with everyone and interpreting THEIR OLW in our own unique ways.

This is the first page in my personal journal. My OLW for this year was “Grow”.

Journal spread for our Frog Dog journal swap 😍 #artjournal #mixedmedia

A post shared by Melissa Johnson (@melissajohnson8) on

I was having so much fun, I decided to do up the very first page also since it was a single page and I had previously left it blank.

Here a page that I created using Dina Wakley’s Scribbly Birds stamps, as well acrylic ink and paints. Her OLW was “Reach”.

This page was created for the OLW “Dream”. I used Dina Wakley’s Face in the Crowd stamp for this one, along with vellum, acrylic paint, oil pastel, and watercolor crayons and pencils, as well as stamps.

When I got my journal back I created this spread just for fun 🙂

Art journal play this afternoon #faultinourstars #artjournal #mixedmedia

A post shared by Melissa Johnson (@melissajohnson8) on

If you enjoy my work, please feel free to share with the proper link to my blog! You can also follow me on Instagram for sneaky peeks of my art (sometimes I lag a bit behind with my blogging!). You can find me here http://instagram.com/melissajohnson8

AND NOW FOR MY EXCITING AMAZING HUGE NEWS!!!

I received word the other day that two of my art journal pages have been chosen to be published in the upcoming book Art Journal Kickstarter by North Light Books!! Publication is slated for December 2014. You can check out the article here: http://www.createmixedmedia.com/editors-picks/congratulations-to-the-art-journal-kickstarter-artists

I hope you all enjoy your week! Thanks for your support! 🙂

Leave a Reply

