The Evolution of a Digital Art Journal Page

IMG_0100.PNG
Today I wanted to share with you a quick peek into how I’ve been altering some of my traditional art journal pages digitally. I started with this journal page using some clip art, acrylic paint, stenciling, and stamps:
IMG_0073.JPG
It’s not bad, but I wanted to take it a few steps further. I opened up ArtRage on my iPad and began by creating a layer of color and doodles using the various tools:
IMG_0090.PNG
Next, I added another layer and imported a picture of my journal page. I then merged the two layers together, adding more paint and doodles over the blended layers.

IMG_0093.JPG
I saved the image to my camera roll, then opened the image in Pixlr Express. I then chose a filter for the image.

IMG_0095.PNG
I continue to add layers using the different filters, frames, and effects in Pixlr.

IMG_0097.PNG

IMG_0096.PNG
And here is the final result. It’s really a lot of experimentation and playing in the apps. I like mixing and building layer upon layer to achieve different looks. Have fun recreating your old art journal pages using ArtRage and Pixlr Express!!

IMG_0099.JPG

Leave a Reply

